Another Week has Flown by

I swear that I have no idea where time is going to these days! It seems the older I get, the faster the clock ticks. Damn!
The weather has been so chilly, that we have taken to bringing our wonderful Bernese Mountain Dog, Grissolm, (Yes, we’re CSI fans), into the house during the day. He’s loving it and, I think, becoming a tad spoiled about the whole thing. Whenever we opened the door, he made a mad beeline. The first time he did this, he almost knocked me off the steps and I knew I would have to break that habit quickly. It’s hard training a BMD. They are such kind souls and they take everything so personally. I raise my voice and he acts like I’ve crushed his spirit. What an actor he is. However, I persevered with the training and now he waits to be invited inside. If only I can get him to stop coming up and going between my legs. It’s rather disconcerting. But, we love him to bits and he is a great family pet.
And speaking of love, the stores are jam packed full of hearts and Valentine goodness. I have never been one to subscribe to all the Feb 14th hype. That’s not completely true. There was a time when I rode the Valentine bandwagon. However, that particular boyfriend was pretty good at dashing hopes and dreams and when I dumped him, I dumped the bandwagon. Now, I prefer to tell family and loved ones how much I love and appreciate them every day of the year. Partly because I want chocolates on any given day and not just in February. 🙂 I found and purchased a little container of hearts at the Bargain Shop and figured I had better try an image or two before I ate them all. Why are all of North Americas national days (Although Valentines isn’t a day off work everyone knows when it is..) built around food? Think about it! Valentines – chocolates and candies, Easter – chocolates and candies, July 1st and 4th – picnics, barbeques, pies and bake offs, Thanksgiving – hams, turkeys, pies and various other desserts, Christmas – more of the same. I think that we’re our own worst enemies when it comes to food. Having said that, I’m planning to bake a Cherry Cake Pudding this afternoon and I’m almost done a loaf of homemade bread – at least that bread is multigrain whole wheat…
Recipe and photos.. maybe. Probably. Next week.
So what has been taking up so much of my time? Photography.. and knitting.
I am a member of the Chaleur Camera Club and I am slated to give a 30 minute presentation on Boudoir Photography Wednesday February 16th at 7pm.
The trick? I have never shot that kind of photo before.
The fix? Research and practice.
First off, I contacted Christina Greve of Divas and Dreams Blog in Denmark and asked her permission to use some of her images as inspiration and as part of the presentation. Christina is a beautiful talented lady who graciously granted my request even though there was no direct benefit to her and I can’t begin to thank her enough! Her images and poses gave me inspiration to go out and try some Boudoir shoots of my own.

I found 3 wonderful local ladies who were adventurous enough to let me practice and then were delighted enough with the results that they are letting me use some of the images in the presentation! YAY! I think a good time was had by all and this is definitely something I would LOVE to keep practicing. At any rate, I still need practice and I have to put together a script and slidshow for Wednesday night. Hopefully, I will sound like I know what I’m talking about. LOL
Here are two samples of my photos:

And as for knitting, I am making a Patons Big Cowl . This link shows the pattern for anyone interested in trying to make the cowl. Although the pattern calls for Patons Angora Bamboo, the LYS was all out and suggested I use Sirdar Snuggly Tiny Tots. She claimed it was a comparable alternative. While I love the feel of this dk tarn, as I’m about 40% of the way through the project, I’m not seeing how it compares. LOL Here’s how it looks on my needles:

Well, I must go start that Cherry Cake Pudding and then I have to work on my photos. Tomorrow morning we’re heading back into the woods for some snowmobiling fun with friends. Ok ok… Negative Ned will be doing more sledding than me. My girlfriend and I are spending the afternoon at the camp crafting and going out for walks in the unspoiled wilderness. No technology to up or download – but I WILL have my camera.
Hope you all have a wonderful weekend too!

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Activity, Animals, General, Mixed Bag, Weekly Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Week has Flown by

  1. It really is crazy. It is mid-February already! The older one gets, the clock ticks lots faster.

Leave a Reply

