The Weekends are for Outdoors

Well, mostly for outdoors. This photo is of our good friends taken at Cigar Falls. Before the SuperBowl, they dropped in for a visit. We had coffee and tea and some pumpkin rolls that I had done up Friday. It was so nice to get together and discuss upcoming activities this year. Their youngest daughter is engaged to be married (Congratulations Krista and Chad!). Anyway, in the course of conversation, the falls came up and we realised that although they have always lived around here, they had never been to see Cigar Falls. So we bundled up and proceeded to walk the valley to the falls.

This is where I tell you that a great time was had by all. And it was.
But not until we crossed the meadow. The snow in areas was thigh deep. And silly us, didn’t think to use snowshoes.
Why not?
Because we’re idiots. It just doesn’t seem that there’s that much snow on the ground is all. Until you try to walk through it.
Within 5 minutes, I was breathing so hard my lungs were on fire. I could NOT catch my breath because my lungs hurt. I don’t smoke, but I am not as physically active as I should be. That little trip across the field was a real eye opener as to my health status. I am anxious to get the dust cleaned up in the basement so I can start back on the treadmill. I NEED to get back on the treadmill.

Ok – so I lived to make the rest of the walk to the waterfalls. It was almost entirely encased and sounded so pretty cascading down inside the icy shell. As you can see by the picture above, certain people see these “walls” as obstacles to be overcome. heh heh He just had to climb it and try to see down inside the ice wall. I took several videos of him climbing the falls – But the one I’m including here still cracks me up.
Cigar Falls

Hope you all had time to get out and enjoy the weekend.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Activity, General, health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

