Textures and Photography

I have only been seriously playing with textures and photography for a few months. Prior to this, I tried to emulate all those ‘works of art’ that are peppered throughout the Flickr on-line community. Some methods of texture application appealed to me more than other .. I shouldn’t say ‘methods’, I should say opacity. In other words, I prefer textures that highlight the images rather than obscure. Here is the same image:

no texture

texture

I like them both.
There has been talk all along about the line between pure photography and digital imaging. I don’t really want to wade into the debate because I can see both sides of the issue. I admire pure photography, but I also really enjoy digital imaging. Which would I prefer to hang on my wall? Either one! If the pure photo is of a subject that appeals and has an emotional connection, you can bet your bootie I’m hanging it. I use the same standard for a digitally enhanced photo. So the choice is up to the individual in my opinion. What I don’t like, is that one camp or the other is trying to minimize the validity of the other. This is a simplistic view and I’m sure someone is thinking, “Why can’t we all just get along?”. But seriously – why can’t we? I certainly don’t think it’s necessary to be proved right or wrong in my preference or belief and I would never think to dictate or trivialize anyone elses choices.
Having said all this, I now say, skip to the bottom of the post if you’re not interested in textures – because this next part is texture loving linkage.

I have been using mostly Kim Klassen Textures. They are light and varied and seem to work well with my photos. Kim also offers courses where you learn to work with textures and even how to make your own!
Other really popular sources that include textures and tutorials:
Rita at the Coffeeshop Blog;
Jerry Jones who hosts Shadowhouse Creations (Many people know him as Skeletalmess and or Ghostbones); and
Franz Jeitz of Fudgegraphics.com

I’m sure that there are many other sources and there are tones of freebie textures on Flickr too – there’s even a group dedicated to textures! If you like to play with your photos – post process, textures is definitely entertaining. And, it takes practice to get it right. I still have a problem figuring what blending mode and how much is too much or is that too little. In the end, I settle on what I like and after all – that’s what this great hobby is all about.

Enjoy!

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Textures and Photography

  1. JW says:

    Bookmarked and noted all the blogs.

    It’s easy when you do all the research now. 😛
    :evil grin:

  2. Linda Hartong says:

    I appreciate this thoughtful evaluation. I like textures in the works of others but rarely on my own photos. They often obscure rather than enhance the photos. In the hands of masters they are divine. Thanks for the links. I will study up.

  3. Krista says:

    The teddy bear shot is gorgeous with the texture added. I have been dabbling with textures lately too… learning what to use when is the hardest part.

  4. Jane Anastasia says:

    I’m with you Polly…. I think both work, but both evoke different moods. Although with this one, I am partial to the pure photo, because the bear already has a lot of texture in his fur. It is superbly done with him slumping in the corner…all by himself.

  5. I agree with what you’re saying entirely. I may not like the use of textures where it overpowers a lovely image but that’s not for me to say — it’s what the individual feels is best for his/her image. That’s what matters. Artwork is so subjective and I respect that.

    • I agree wholeheartedly. There are times when the use of textures enhance and there are times when it obscures – each of those will be determined by what the photographer is trying to convey or even what the photographer is “feeling” at any given time. In that respect, photography is very much “art”.

  6. rads says:

    I love both the textured n the original teddy shots…the textured one looks more artsy though…n I’m a fan of coffeeshop blog too 🙂 gr8 post…btw I have subscribed to your blog…

    • So nice to see you here and thanks for subscribing! I do love both versions but in this case, I think I’m partial to the original and the minimal feel – it definitely has more impact to me…

  7. Actually Jim, it’s Sis. 🙂

Leave a Reply

