My Branching has Been Pruned

Ok – so forget the idea of branching. I can’t figure out how to add new posts to the different pages. It seems that a page is a page is a page, and never will it become anything more. sigh

So – My lovely page about all the knitting has been moved to here – pictures and all.

If anyone caught the post in the page before pruning, you would have seen me make reference to the designer of blogs as either genius or evil incarnate ..
guess which way I’m leaning …

I finished this ribbon hat from the Itty Bitty Hats Book by Susan B. Anderson. She embellished hers at the crown but I’ve chosen to leave mine with a short stem. It’s so cute! I love that ribbon I selected too – so young at heart. I picked up yellow and pink ribbons in the same patterns. They are on my list to do more of these ribbon hats in different sizes. Adorable. The one pictured here is newborn to 6 months.

I paid a visit to the LYS (Local Yarn Shop) Thimbles and Threads in Miramichi when we were on our way back from Beaver Lodge. Unfortunately, my timing was not the greatest as they had depleted their supply for stock taking and the new order hadn’t arrived yet.
Can you say DARN?
I made the best of it though and selected 4 skeins of Pomp-A-Doodle Super Bulky Yarn from Red Heart. Here’s the bonus! . Follow the Pomp-A-Doodle Link to the Red Heart site and get the free pattern AND watch a how to video for working the yarn in both knit and crochet. I made 2 scarves so far as pictured here. I have 2 more scarves to knit. 1 in Sage and the other in Berries and Cream. I should be done both those today since it takes about 3 hours for me to make 1 scarf. The more experienced knitter can probably make a scarf in half the time.

Since I made the original post here, I DID finish the sage coloured Pomp-A-Doodle scarf. However – I veered when it came to making the scarf with Berries and Cream. Instead, I’m making another hat. What is it with me and hats? so far it’s adorable and it gives me ideas to make a little skirt with the Pomp-A-Doodle hemline – I must order more!

Tomorrow some recipes for Old Fashioned Pumpkin Cookies and Delicious sweet pork chops.
Until then – Happy knitting!

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Branching has Been Pruned

  1. Ok, I am almost ready to take up knitting again. These are the cutest hats and scarves I have ever seen. I used to knit, sew and embroider but have not done so for a long time. I am thinking these projects could help cure the “winter blahs”.
    I like getting your blob by email. It is fun to see it when I first turn on my computer in the morning.
    And yes the designers of blogs are evil and tricky but I am figuring out more and more each time I post. What theme are you using.
    Thanks for starting my day on a positive note ( I will over look the pun this one time).

    • Thank you for the great chuckle, Linda. I do appreciate the ‘pun’.
      I guess that’s why I’m knitting up a storm. there are so many lovely colours and textures in the yarns available today.
      My latest project was a mix of textures and while the end result was not exactly what I was hoping for, it was still a lot of fun to work. I am going to modify the patern, pick up more of that funky Pomp-A-Doodle and give it another go. This definitely adds colour to the winter ‘landscape’. Heh heh.
      It seems that I was on the wrong address for your own blog and it was only this morning that I got the “right” page. I will be by for a nice visit and a fresh cuppa.
      By the way, I’m currently using the 20/10 theme.

  2. As I mentioned on Flickr, I adore textiles and yarn. I only wish my knitting skills were better. I’ve crocheted in the past as well and really enjoyed the actual process but could not follow a pattern for the life of me. Just couldn’t understand them at all. I LOVE that darling green hat with the ribbon.

    • Thanks Diane! I am mostly self taught with both crochet and knitting. I’ve been known to finish a sweater and then rip the whole thing apart and start over because it didn’t turn out right – or the fit was off. Yeah – a tad over the edge I’m sure but it was my way of learning. Thanks for the lovely compliment on the green hat – I’ve had a number of compliments on it now. I just need to have another grandchild to give it to because I made newborn to 6 months sizing. LOL

  3. Wendy says:

    Ah, a page is a page, but if you’re interested in hosting mutliple blogs (these other blogs being the pages), you could always create a page, and in the name field, the url of a new blog, and then when someone hits the page button, it takes them to the new blog, just as if it were integrated in the site. I’m not sure if you can do that with free wordpress though, or if it has to be hosted. But, you could try it.

  4. eyegillian says:

    I was curious to see if you’d manage page children, because I can’t figure it out either… At least with the ability to organize categories & tags on the sidebar, it’s easy to search by cooking and knitting and that will group all the related posts together.

    And that ribbon hat is adorable!

  5. Tamara says:

    Monica, you have golden hands. I love the green hat. So cute.

Leave a Reply

