Are You Ready for the Difference?

So this is where we went for a few days this weekend. (It has internet access but I was too busy to update the blog – sorry) Beaver Lodge ” is located in Cains River, New Brunswick, Canada. This fantastic retreat has 3 1/2 baths (including one that has a whirlpool tub), 2 common sitting areas, a business computer area, 5 bedrooms and a great kitchen / dining area. The 3/4 wrap around porch and a screened in sun room capture the best of the southern exposure. Another lower level patio with fire pit is perfect for those afternoons and lazy evenings. As an added bonus, there’s an outdoor hot tub that seats 6 comfortably. The lodge has two 4 wheelers available for rent and walking trails if you prefer to “hoof it” instead. A beautiful secluded get away spot.
What makes all this so remarkable, (besides the obvious,) is that Dirk Buba, the owner/operator, is an Award-winning Meister Hairstylist from Germany. His dream is to host corporate and personal retreats at his Lodge and run a hair salon from his home.

Now that the Lodge was established, he was able to focus on opening his Hair Salon, Best Hair. We were in Cains River this weekend to help him with his Open House / Grand Opening. We were ecstatic when the first visitors arrived almost as soon as the doors opened and they didn’t stop coming until 4:30 or so. We counted well over 50 visitors! What a dream come true for him and for us as his friends! Congratulations Dirk!

So, where does the “Are you ready for the Difference” title come in to play? In addition to being the slogan for the Salon, it’s the difference between a Meister Stylist and your average hairdresser – wow! I was to be the “walking” model for the Grand Opening and so placed total trust in Dirk. (Yes, that’s a photo of me sporting my new hair colour and style on the left) First he coloured my hair (not a shade I would have considered but I LOVE it) and then he cut it. Not in a style I have ever had before but again – I LOVE it. Ok – so colour and cut aside – it was the personal consultation that was the first MAJOR difference between his approach and the average hairdresser. He asked a lot of questions. Everything from what was the predominant colour in my wardrobe to what kind of products did I normally use on my hair. I felt very much a part of the process at every stage. He never rushed once, even though the hour was getting late.
The other difference, Dirk insists that the customer is paying for a personal positiveexperience.
When was the last time a visit to your hairdresser was considered personal OR positive?
Where has the customer service gone?
Oh and lets talk shampoo!
Are you used to having a “scrub” that is supposed to pass for a shampoo? Let a Master wash your hair – it’s a wonderful experience.
I honestly wanted the wash to keep going – so relaxing. More like a massage than a wash. Loved it!
And then you actually DO get a massage! He calls it an “India Scalp Massage”.
I called it heaven.
So – I had absolutely no problems singing his praises at the Open House Sunday.
I usually avoid going to the hairdresser. It’s something I’ve done because my hair is overgrown or dull or going grey. A necessity.
But now – well, this particular hairstyle will need a trim in about a months time. For the first time ever, I’m looking forward to going to a hairdresser on a regular basis. Bring on the hair wash and massage πŸ™‚

If you find yourself looking for a private “get-away” location and or you need your hair done, I highly recommend that you contact Dirk at the Beaver Lodge.

Tell him Monica sent you. πŸ™‚

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Business, General, Neighbours Helping Neighbours, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are You Ready for the Difference?

  1. I love your new hair color and style.

  2. Wow! You’ve made me wish I lived in Canada – that hair style is wonderful and looks good on you.
    To give credit to my hair dresser – a hair wash at her salon always includes an Indian head massage. I agree this is totally wonderful.

  3. I love your new look . Very nice.
    I voted for you over at http://thepioneerwoman.com/photography/
    Love your entry.
    Have a great month.

    • Thanks so much Lisa! The contest ended last night and I was not the grand prize winner. However, I still feel like a winner since I made it allt he way tot he finalists and thats a HUGE accomplishment in my book. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the lovely compliment. Enjoy the trip! I look forward to seeing your photos when you get back.

Leave a Reply

