Oh My GAWD – Another Hat

A Feather in Your Cap

Hold me back! I can’t seem to stop knitting. I was up until 1 am last night finishing this cute hat. By the way, like my hat model? He works for hunny ….
First, the details.
This is another Susan B.Anderson pattern from her Itty Bitty Hats Book. The pattern is titled “Speckled Hen” and was knit in bleach, organic and black colours with a black tipped boa for the topper.
Very cute.
However, all I had in my random crafting stash was a pink boa. Good start! I used a very pale pink fuzzy wuzzy yarn and a darker pink nylon yarn for accent.
Next, I looked at the care and cleaning of the hat. How many boas will survive the wash? Not too many that I know of. So, I bought some velcro tabs today and attached 1 to the top of the hat and 1 to the bottom of the boa. Voila! Easy to care for.
Too the right is the image of the hat without the feathers.

I’m really enjoying working my way through this hat book and I’m already thinking about the next hat. Right now, the last three hats are sitting on my coffee table. Negative Ned says I’m turning the place into a milliners shop. He doesn’t really mind. As long as he can still see the TV and watch football he’s happy.

Speaking of Negative Ned, he and I went for a walk to the waterfall in the hills across the road from our home. The little stream is mostly frozen over. Enough at least that we were able to walk up the valley. I uploaded a video of the waterfall and ice formations to YouTube. My first time ever uploading video … I was impressed with my myself for figuring out how to do that. OOooOooOo. LOL Anyway, while I managed to figure that part out, I haven’t figured out how to improve the video quality or do much in the way of editing. In case you’re very forgiving, I’m including the link to YouTube and you can see NN near the end of the vid – he walked into the frame to show the scale of the falls.

And last –

Kim Klassen is offering a FREE LEARN TEXTURES IN 10 MINUTES course at her Blog.
If you have never heard of her or haven’t seen her work, you OWE it to yourself to pop on over. Tell her Positive Polly sent you. πŸ™‚

Ok. I lied.
That wasn’t last.
I have to mention that I am a WINNER! WAHOO!
I entered a giveaway at Krystals Blog, SassySanctuary, and I won an original Dishtowel Belt. It’s the cutest design and I’m tickled PINK! Thanks Krystal.

Ok that really was the end.
I feel like I’m forgetting something …
.
.
.
Oh yes!
The Video link: Cigar Falls on YouTube

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in General, knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh My GAWD – Another Hat

  1. Kim Monroe says:

    I’m telling you, sell these on Etsy.com!
    You would make so much money!
    Something you love doing anyway and you get paid for it!
    Who’d a thunk!!!

  2. eyegillian says:

    That is a cute little hat; I like the way the ribboning adds a little sparkle. Reading about your projects has helped me get back to my neglected knitting, maybe I’ll even finish that sweater (one more sleeve to go), so thanks for the inspiration!

    And congrats on your first YouTube and winning a dishtowel belt. Sounds like you’re having too much fun already!

  3. Wow.. This one is a real beauty. Wonderful work and I envy you.

  4. Wendy says:

    You are on a hat roll! Have you seen this hat? I’m a little in love with it, and think I need to knit it this weekend.

    • Thanks Wendy for that link. I had never heard of the PBS program Knitting Daily TV.
      Unfortunately I can’t see much of that hat because I have to be a subscriber I guess – But what I do see of it is lovely!

Leave a Reply

