Another Week Another Hat

Flower Pot is another pattern from Susan B Andersons Itty Bitty Hat Book. I made some changes to the pattern as follows:

I used a variegated yarn instead of solid for the pot base.
I opted to use a different pattern for the flowers. I didn’t like the tiny “disappearing” flowers called for in the book. So I went “here” to get a pattern from Teresa.
I accidently made 5 stems instead of only 4.
The book calls for basketweave stitch pattern for the main body of the pot. Instead I used the basketweave for 8 rows (enough to complete 1 full round of the pattern) and then I switched to a seed stitch. My reasoning was aesthetic. It was all in how I wanted my “pot” to look. 🙂

I think if I were to make this hat again, I would indeed go for a solid colour body, and use groupings of flowers to embellish the hat. Oh wait! There’s a whole other hat pattern in the book that does just that. Time to get out the circular needles and cast on again.

Incidently, in case there’s someone out there besides me who didn’t know this … there’s a wonderful on-line resource called Ravelry. It is a cool spot to keep track of your projects and make notes as little reminders to yourself. It also helps to provide a knowledge base for others who may be looking at trying certain patterns. There is supposed to be a sense of community too, but I haven’t found it. Maybe it’s because I’m not sure where to look for it. Regardless, lots of freebie patterns and designer patterns available for reasonable rates. Super spot to scope out ideas and get the creative juices going for your next knitting / crochet project.

Not into knitting or crochet? Perhaps paper crafts is more your thing? I wish I had the creative thought process some of you have. Linda, over at CraftaholicsAnonymous blog, (a blog I visit everyday for fantastic ideas and easy how-to’s, is amazing! She comes up with decore ideas that boggle my mind. Anyway, she happens to be giving away a very cool cutting tool that you may appreciate – espeially if you like scrapbooking and or card making. Check it out.

Thought for the day: “A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.”
Smile.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Another Week Another Hat

  1. Krystal says:

    Congrats! You won my giveaway. Contact me to claim your prize.

  2. Kim Monroe says:

    I would love to commission you to make me a scarf! This is so beautiful and I imagine a scarf would be just as amazing!!!!!!

    Looks like you won something! Congrats my friend! You should sell these on Etsy.com! You could make a mint!!!!

    • If you sell on Etsy you pretty much have to have a stock and then take into account shipping etc etc etc — If someone wants to buy one locally well that’s fine 🙂
      A scarf eh – I’ll give it some thought. 😀

  3. eyegillian says:

    Wow, that’s a flowery hat! Looks like it was fun to make, and you did a great job figuring out the flowers. I made one similar to this a few years ago (without the flowery frondy bits); it matched my coat perfectly but it wasn’t very warm. Making a wind-proof hat is a challenge I haven’t figured out yet…!

    • Wind proof -that seems to be a problem with knit.
      I’m wondering if I should start looking at a nice cotton lining for the hats and stitch them in .. sigh.
      I’ve never been good with a sewing machine. grumble grumble … 😀

Leave a Reply

