Little Bits of Happiness


It seems that there are so many reasons for people to be unhappy in life. The news is filled with doom and gloom. I suggested that we incorporate some feel good stories into the paper and evening broadcasts, but guess what? Those stories only appeal to the people they happen to. It’s doom and gloom that sells. Sad but true. And you know why it sells? Because it makes us feel better that it didn’t happen to us! sigh

Someone asked me if I was really all sunshiny and positive all the time in spite of the news and dire situation around the globe.
Saying that I’m Positive Polly doesn’t mean that I am blind to the pain and stresses of every day life. It simply means that when I can, I will adopt a sunnier disposition. I like to think that the power of positive thinking can minimize the negative impacts in society today. I have down days just like everyone else. I’m “positive” not “delusional”. I guess I would categorize myself as a reluctant realist who prefers to wear rose coloured glasses. If I can help someone to see the silver lining of a dark cloud, or say something reinforcing to bolster confidence, then why not do it? Some would say I give false hope. Again, I am not an extremist when it comes to being positive… if anything, I have 2 feet firmly planted. There are way TOO many extremists in this world now, we certainly don’t need any more. That sounds like a discussion for another day… 🙂

Anyway.

It doesn’t take much to make me happy. I am not a material person … Although if someone wanted to shower me with gifts, I wouldn’t say no.
I already said I wasn’t delusional.

So, having cleared the air on what being Positive Polly is all about, here are just a few of the little things that make me happy:

Waking up in the morning and the sunrise is a beautiful vibrant orange.
Being able to go back to sleep after I’ve admired the spectacle.
Waking again and having hot tea ready and waiting when I stumble into the kitchen.
A morning hug and kiss.
Warm floors under my feet.
Fresh air and sunshine on my cheeks.
Sunlight.
Watching the ocean.
Listening to the sounds of nature.
Coming home to hot chocolate and marshmallows.
Chatting with friends.
Listening to music.
Love.
Laughter.
Sharing.
Caring.

Good food, great friends, family, and cherished loved ones….
I am blessed and I am happy.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Little Bits of Happiness

  1. eyegillian says:

    I love your list of happy things — even reading it is a positive experience because it helps me remember things that make me happy! I think it all comes down to how you see the glass: is it half empty or half full? Either way, it’s the same glass with the same amount of liquid — you aren’t being delusional, you’re being hopeful. The opposite of hope is despair; who wants that? Not me!

  2. JW says:

    Taco’s make me happy.
    I’m pretty low maintenance.

Leave a Reply

