Another Project Completed

I just love the bright colours of this Rainbow Stripes hat. It’s a pattern from Susan B. Anderson Itty Bitty Hat Book. I’ve made this particular pattern twice and I’ve made her Upside Down Daisy hat at least 4 times.
For both hats, I used nylon fibre yarn. I have no idea who the maker is because I lost misplaced the yarn labels. I just know that they are all machine washable. I made sure of that, because I know little kids get dirty at the drop of a hat …. groan. (couldn’t resist)
The last time I knit that hat was about 2 years ago. In that time I forgot the mistakes I made and so guess what? Yep. I made the same mistakes again. My problem is the measuring. You’re supposed to make each strip 7 inches connecting on the right side to the previous strip and then knit another 2 inches for the ribbon topping. I take the short cut and rather than measuring each strip, I just hold it against the previous and eye-ball it. By the time you get half way around the hat, your strips are an inch too short and by the time you get back to the starter strip you’re out 2 inches. So. Let my mistake be a lesson to you all. Measure, measure, measure. I promise I will do the same.
Just wanted to post a quick shot of my beautiful dog – Grisholm. He’s a Bernese Mountain Dog and one of the best breeds you could ask for. Our boy is so gentle and quiet and he sticks close to my side. This shot was taken a couple of days ago while I was out shooting stuff around the yard. We were still getting snow and he decided that he had enough I guess. The only way to get my attention was to get in the shot. 🙂

Have a great evening.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Animals, knitting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Another Project Completed

  1. I love the photo of your little one in the snow. How cute he is.
    Very nice hat. You maked me want to knitt again.
    Its way too cold for me and my camera. Im in withdrawl.
    xo

    • I know how withdrawal from the camera feels 🙂 Those are usually the times I wander around the house and do my TRAPPED INDOORS shots. I just can’t go a week without learning something new about photography and light. I hope it warms up for you soon!

  2. eyegillian says:

    That’s a fun hat — I bet it goes with every jacket, just give it a twist and out you go!
    And yes, I really should get out my knitting (2 half sweaters and 1/4 of a sock to go).

    • I didn’t know you were a knitter too Gillian! I really enjoy working the patterns and stitches. Gives me something to do during commercials while watching TV. LOL Some ladies can knit and read but I’m not good enough for that.

  3. Busy Chasing Baby says:

    I LOVE this design, and the bright colors really make it look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

