Creamy Baked Chicken Recipe

I used to hate spending anytime in the kitchen. I avoided hosting parties unless there was an M&M’s store open 24 hours “just-in-case”. And even then, I avoided hosting parties because it would require me to use the oven and microwave at the very least. My family grew to hate frozen pre-cooked foods. But I really couldn’t be bothered opening a cookbook. I don’t know why I felt like that.

Ever since moving here, I spend a fair amount of my time in the kitchen. I wonder if it’s because I really like the layout and the way it flows … I don’t know. All I know is that now, I like baking and I like creating new recipes. Some creations are successes, some are so bad, even the dog won’t eat them…
Just kidding. The dog really will eat anything – mostly because he scarfs down his food before it has a chance to hit the tastebuds and register in his brain.

So anyway, I figure I should post some of my experiments every now and then. Only the ones that I deem good enough to feed guests will make it here. Let me know if you try it, and whether or not you like it. I would really appreciate the feedback.


Creamy Baked Chicken

4 large chicken breasts (can be boneless/skinless or bone in)
4 Tbsp fine bread crumbs
1 med onion diced
3 large button mushrooms diced
1 celery stalk thinly sliced
¾ cup plain fat free yogurt
¼ cup low fat sour cream
¾ cup shredded partly skimmed cheese
¼ tsp Pepper
1 Tbsp parsley
½ tsp paprika
1 Tbsp chives
1 tsp garlic powder
2 Tbsp grated parmesan Cheese

Preheat Oven to 400 degrees
Use a high sided dark cooking pan as there will be a lot of juice.

Wash and dry chicken pieces and arrange them in the pan.
In a separate bowl, combine yogurt, sour cream, pepper, parsley, chives. Mix well.

Sprinkle each chicken piece with 1 Tbsp of bread crumbs.
Spread onion, mushroom and celery over top of chicken.
Spoon yogurt mixture over top of chicken pieces.
Sprinkle garlic powder and parmesan cheese evenly.

Cover with tin foil and bake.
I placed the chicken 7 inches up from the bottom of the oven.
Cooking time varies depending on your oven and the sizes of the chicken pieces.
I suggest that you check after 20 minutes. Careful when you remove the pan from the oven. Even though we didn’t add water, there will be a lot of fluid in the pan.
Chicken is done when no pink remains in the center.
Remove tin foil. Sprinkle shredded cheese over the top of the chicken.
Return pan to oven until cheese is melted. About 3 minutes.
Discard juices and serve chicken.

Serves 4. Enjoy.

NOTES: I called this recipe “Smelly Chicken” because the garlic and parmesan smells really come through as the chicken is cooking.
It smells divine.
You can use other parts of chicken with this recipe – thighs, half breast etc.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Creamy Baked Chicken Recipe

  1. Looks and sounds wonderful. I have done so much cooking from family to the men working in the fields , spring planting, haying in mid summer and the harvest and by the time harvesting all our crops is done so am I and I dont want to cook for at least a week. I had to put all the food in seperate bowls and take it to the fields they were in. I blogged about this when I first started blog about five years ago.
    We eat lighter than we ever did also.
    Have a peaceful Sunday and stay warm.

    • Surprisingly enough, we’re eating better now that I spend more time in the kitchen too. It’s actually one of the reasons I started… I think home made meals are better in controlling salt and fat content.

  2. Wendy says:

    Hmmm, maybe a different name? Because it sounds wonderful. Fragant chicken perhaps? Vibrant chicken? I guess smelly is better than stinky. I made lentil soup over the weekend, and my house smelled like fresh thyme – delish! Weather like this is perfect for cooking.

  3. eyegillian says:

    This does look very tasty! Congrats on making friends with your kitchen — I’m sure you won’t be the only one who benefits from your new hobby (and I’m not thinking of the dog!).

  4. Jane Anastasia says:

    I think your chicken looks yummy!! And probably your beautiful kitchen has a bit to do with your new found joy of cooking. I know that when my kitchen was too small to move around in, I did not cook very much. Add some counter space and voila, I now have a place to put things and so I love cooking too. Plus I love pots and dishes, as you know.
    Looking forward to seeing more of your delicious recipes Polly!

    • I believe you’re right about the new kitchen playing a role in my sudden enjoyment of cooking. I feel very relaxed when I’m in it.
      I’m going to try to post at least 1 recipe per week. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

