It’s all in how you look at it

For me?

Years ago, if anyone had asked me, I would have said I don’t like winter.
My! How times have changed! Of course, it’s a womans prerogative to change her mind.

As an aside, I learned something new today about the word PREROGATIVE. I have been mispronouncing and misspelling it all these years.

For the last several years I have embraced the snow and the colder temperatures. It seems that here on the east coast, the temperatures are somewhat milder because of our proximity to the Atlantic Ocean. As a matter of fact, in the winter of 2009, they had near record snowfalls – the likes of which hadn’t been seen in ages. The result of milder temperatures and overcast skies holding the warmer air closer to the surface. (I’m not making that up. I kid you not.) I could get into a whole discussion about the phenomenon of mass die offs of bird, fish and crustaceans that’s happening globally right now, along with the shifting of the earths magnetic poles, but I’ll reserve judgement for a bit. (I don’t buy into the religious fear mongering that’s going on though, and I’ll admit that right out.)

So, back to winter and changing minds …

I have discovered the joys of dressing warmly and venturing forth after a freshly fallen snow. The crisp snap of boots on the crust of a walking trail. The trill of birds in the trees. The muffle of sound outside that little pocket of forest. The light in winter is challenging too. So often, on really sunny cold days, the snow is blown out and details are overlooked. It’s just blinding on the camera sensor. Post processing can save the depth if you shot in RAW format.
Tufts of snow dancing along the branches and those little pom poms of snow decorating the tips of thin new growth. It’s refreshing. It’s invigorating. It’s beautiful. This particular time out, I bumped up the exposure setting and lowered the brightness of my LCD view screen. I was thinking that if I could shoot for the details in the bark, then by rights, the details in the shadows of the snow would be visible. It was a successful test even though I had to decrease the exposure by a full stop in the post process. The bonus I found to making the adjustment after the fact, was less purple fringing. Something I will keep in mind on the next photographic foray.
Apparently, others like it too. Negative Ned and I came across this little message in the snow and I was able to grab a photo of it.

The best part of winter, though, is not necessarily the snow or the beauty of the landscape.
Nope.
For me, the absolute best part of winter ….. I can wear layers of clothing.
Any season where I can cover my waistline and nobody asks questions is a plus in my book.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in General, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It’s all in how you look at it

  1. Kim says:

    I totally agree with everything; including the part about this not being the end of the world! I too love winter for the reason of layers! I love being able to wear the longer sweaters that cover up my very “AMPLE” butt!
    But seriously, these are some beautiful photographs!

  2. Mel says:

    What gorgeous photos to give us in the southern hemisphere a reminder of cold weather and the joys of wearing winter coats and woollies.

    • Mel, it’s early days in winter up here – You’ll notice my enthusiasm will likely wane if the cold weather stays around much past March 🙂
      Likely I’ll be planning some sort of trip to more southerly regions. …

  3. Krista says:

    What lovely thoughts on winter… I like winter too. My favorite part of the winter is going outside after a snowfall and observing the muffled silence. Nothing compares to that moment!

  4. Winter can and is such a beautiful time. Your photos are just stunning. Love the first one. Its cold here and almost too cold for my camera gear.

  5. eyegillian says:

    I love winter… except when it’s windy, or when it’s below -20 celcius, or when it’s icy or… And I don’t like really like having to dress in so many layers even indoors, but I do like to be warm, and I’d rather add layers to be comfortable than to be sweltering in the middle of the summer with nothing else to take off!

    I find my camera always underexposes the snow (everything is averaged to 18% grey), so I overexpose (just short of clipping highlights) in post-processing. The trouble of course is that our camera sensors can’t read bright snow and shadow — but RAW definitely helps!

Leave a Reply

