How I Survived

We had no internet.
And not just no high speed internet…
I mean NO INTERNET at all. Zip. Zilch. Nada.
We also had no telephone or cable.

Can you tell we have a package from the same company?
We are Rogers customers. Apparently, someone cut the main trunk line feeding the services to Northern New Brunswick. We have no idea how it happened as yet. I’m sure Rogers wants to know that answer too. I was able to get this information only because we have a cheap “pay as you go” cell phone and I called my brother. He was kind enough to get in touch with Rogers for me.

Ok – so a bit of tongue-in-cheek on that title. However, I’m sure that there are a large number of people out in the world who would have been seriously peeved and probably lost without contact of some form. Good thing for them, there are internet cafes and libraries that are connected. Worse comes to worse, they could show up on their neighbours front step and ask to use the services. OR – you could just drive around until you find an unsecured WIFI 🙂

I have to say, I actually enjoyed my time of isolation. I cooked, baked, took photos and did more purging and backing up of files. (I have all my photos from 2008 to 2010 backed up – my eyes have gone funny though). I started working through a backlog of magazines too. Got the floors cleaned, (I personally did not clean the floors – Negative Ned does that.)
Dishes? check. Laundry? check check
I did not go out for a walk today because I was busy in the kitchen. (Convenient excuse – it was freaking chilly out there today)
However, the walk we took yesterday was lovely. I have pictures…. I’ll show those tomorrow.
Today I want to share the kitchen. It still smells divine in here.
So what did I create in the kitchen?

Slow Cooker Beef Stew

1 lb of grade A stewing beef
1 small onion finely chopped
3 medium carrots, peeled and thinly sliced
2 stalks of celery, finely sliced
4 small peeled and cubed potatoes and 1 good size one (because I love potatoes)
Water
1 Beef stock cube
Cumin
Worcestershire Sauce
Parsley Flakes
Basil Leaves
Pepper

Cut the beef cubes into smaller pieces.
Using a frying pan, sear / brown the beef cubes in 1 tsp butter
Pour the beef into the slow cooker and return the pan to the stove.
Add another tsp of butter to the pan and cook onions for 1 minute.
Pour onions into slow cooker.
Add vegetables and water to cover
Throw in the beef stock cube ( I don’t bother crumbling or cutting it as it will dissolve over time)
Add your spices / seasoning. I give about 6 shakes from each container and that seems to be about right taste wise.
Cook on low heat for 2 hours and shift over to high for 3 more hours. After which, you can drop it to warm setting. If you start this early enough in the day, you can leave it on the low cook temp the whole time.
You can click on this image to see it larger I think. I added a few personal notes.

Delicious. I serve it up with my skid row Garlic toast which is basically hamburger buns buttered, sprinkle garlic powder and pan fry until toasted. It adds a nice little zip.

And for dessert

Peanutty Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies


Peanutty Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 cup rolled oats
¾ cup all purpose flour
½ tsp baking soda
10 ozs semi sweet chocolate chips
1 ½ cups peanut butter ( used smooth but you can use the chunky too)
½ cup butter or margarine
¾ cup sugar
2/3 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 ½ tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a smaller bowl, combine flour, oats and baking soda. Set aside.
In the main bowl, cream together peanut butter and butter. Beat in sugars.
Blend in the eggs and vanilla. Add dry ingredients to this mix and blend.
Stir in the chocolate chips.
Drop by tablespoon onto greased or parchment lined cookie sheet.
(I use parchment to avoid adding anymore fats to the recipe.)
Bake 10 – 12 minutes. The top may look a little under done but as long as the bottom edges show colour it’s cooked. This cookie is delicious either way – soft and chewy or nice and crisp. Cool on wire rack.
I get an even 4 dozen from one batch and they freeze well …

… supposedly.

Although I can’t attest to the freezing part – they usually don’t last long enough to freeze.
The batch pictured here went to my parents.
Enjoy!

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Baking, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How I Survived

  1. JW says:

    ::drools::

  2. Lisa says:

    Love reading your blog. Wow to be cut off of everything . Im sure telling you I would get alot done too.
    Sorry to hear you were but Im sure you enjoyed some peace for sometime.
    Your home looks so inviting.
    Funny how this works. I was just thinking about you and wanted to catch up here and there you were. We are all connected by blogging I think by an invisable thread and one the binds some of us and some it doesnt . I hope this one doesnt ever break.
    Thanks for stopping.. and thanks for the laugh about driving around find a wifi signal.
    Have you ever done that. My daughter and I did one year when we went to the lake and I was withdrawl . I had no idea it was something illegal. Ha.
    Have an awesome night and stay warm.
    Send me the cookies and no one will get hurt. Ha.

    • I’m so glad that you enjoyed your visit with me. 🙂
      I have never driven around looking for an unsecured WiFi .. 😀

      Send me your mailing address and I’ll send you some cookies. 🙂 Quick – before they’re all gone! LOL
      Hugs to you

  3. Lisa says:

    Im grabbing your button.
    and I should and will make one. . Should I.??

    • I just have a title link to your blog – I’m trying to learn how to do the button thingy but I’m not sure about it. Some blogs I’ve visited lately seem very chopped up and clunky because of the buttons. I think I might stick with written titles …

  4. eyegillian says:

    I’m a Rogers pkg customer too… now I’m wondering if it’s so smart to put all our eggs in one basket!

    I LOVE your kitchen — such wonderful light, and that’s a wonderful working table you have there.

    But, oh, you are so cruel. Did you have to post picture of those scrumptious looking cookies just when I’ve finally finished scarfing down the Xmas cooking so I could start up again with weight watchers without any more temptations… (psst: are they low-fat?) 😮

    • Actually I’m quite happy overall with Rogers. The main complaint I have with them is that there packages differ from one region to the next. Very confusing. grrr
      Thanks for the lovely compliment on the kitchen. I am so sorry to say that the cookies are not low fat – BUT they are high fibre – imo, that balances out 🙂

Leave a Reply

