Purging

With my desire to be all that I can be, comes the need to put my current baggage in order.
The first thing I did was blog about it. 🙂
Next, I stopped playing all those FaceBook games. Sure they were fun and a great way initially to waste time. But then they, (they being the evil developers), started adding all these little quests and events that were time limited and before I knew it, I was sending and building and shoveling and hammering like a mad fool and logging in several times a day to trade more and request more and more AND MORE>>>… sigh.
They sure got me hooked. But I fooled them.
Blocked every last one of those applications so no more updates, notices or invites. I’ve moved on.

On my agenda for purging, was my computer photo file. ACK!
Daunting task. I have two Western Digital, My Passport external portable hard drives. I bought them myself and am in no affiliated with WD. I just like the reliability, portability and cost of their product. I’m sure there are other portable hard drives out there that are just as good…. Anyway. As I was saying, I have 2 of these things. I like to back up my photo and document files regularly. However, I realized something while going through my 2011 purge… I am a pack rat of photographic garbage. I save every image I take. WHY? It’s not like I’m going to use 8 pictures of the same lightbulb. It’s not like the lightbulb moved while I was taking a picture of it. It did not turn on or turn off. It didn’t wink at me .. I’m pretty sure it didn’t ..
So, I spent a large portion of my day yesterday going through the images — 1 at a time — picking the best of the lot and deleting the rest. GASP! Yes! I actually used the “Del” button. As a testament however, to just how much I hoard photos, I got rid of about 1000 images. I still have the other 11 months to go through. 🙂
Ok maybe a slight exaggeration.
But! I am making a point here, in case you missed it.
Be ruthless when you first review your images. If they aren’t what you were hoping for, don’t imagine that just by having them take up space on your hard drive that they are going to get better with age and inactivity. They aren’t fine wines. If you took 8 photos of the lightbulb and it didn’t break into song and dance, purge all but the 1 best one where it looks like it was at least ‘thinking’ of breaking out into song and dance.

On the plus side (there has to be a plus side, otherwise I would have to change my alias), of this ruthless purge, I found several hundred photos that I forgot I even had. LOL
1 of those gems is posted above for your (and my) viewing pleasure. I deleted her 7 identical twins.

And now, I must get back to the tedious job of purging the stock. Muttering to myself the whole while about learning lessons the hard way ….
Hope you all have a wonderful day and that you have remembered to back up your files recently.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in General, Photography, Resolution and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Purging

  1. Those facebook games have claws. Frightening, long claws.

    I like the shape you capture regarding the leaf.

    Entertained,
    D

  2. eyegillian says:

    I agree about Facebook. It is handy for keeping track of people, but I only minimally participate… I don’t trust it. Congrats for breaking the game addiction!

    Re photo storage (I use WD My Books), you are absolutely right about cleaning out the garbage. When I do my initial sort, there’s usually a few (oof, etc) that I delete right away, then I process my faves. I intend to go back and sort through the rest, but there’s always other things to do or new photos to take. I’ve been meaning to archive my older pics, so maybe the best time to tackle this task is in the dark winter months.

    • It took me 3 days of determination to go through all the files. I had to keep telling myself to be ruthless. I deleted over 3000 images for the year of 2010. I’m sure if I gave it another pass I could easily say bye-bye to another lot and probably my sanity .. or what’s left of it at this point. 🙂
      If anything, it has certainly taught me to be honest to myself from the start. I don’t want to have to do this again.

  3. Wendy says:

    My husband bought me Lightroom 3 for Hanukkah, and I am dreading the process of going through the photos, moving them into the catalogue, and purging. Definitely a snowy day project – good for you that just sat right down and did it!

  4. Lisa says:

    ThankYou for the information.. Oh G.. we are alike. I have a hard time deleting any photo I take. My harddrive is getting full.. I had to take my lightroom out for now. I uploaded over 2000 photo to anouther private flickr account. Im thinking about a new computor also. The external drives sounds like the way to go. I going to have a look at that right away.
    and Polly I laughed and laughed about facebook. I told my daughter if she saw me playing the games on fB to just shoot me. Glad you let them go . I think your going to be happy in the long run . I stopped alot of the apps from coming into my wall too. I think the heart will still come in.
    Have an awesome day Polly and Im so delighted your blogging.!!!

  5. Lisa says:

    Remember to send cookies. Im now eating chocolates I bought for Bob.. gessh. thanks alot. Just when I was loosing.

  6. Lisa says:

    And I love your image. Just love it.

Leave a Reply

