A Fresh Resolve


Several years ago, I made a resolution to stop making resolutions for New Years. I was of the mind that I never kept my resolutions, so why bother. I resolved to effect changes as I needed and why wait until New Year. I kept that resolution… until now.

You see, I still believe that I can effect changes in my life every day. I will continue to adjust things as I go. However, there is a plus side to making a New Years resolution – it makes you really think about where you’ve been, and more importantly, where you are going. It gives us a point of comparison so that we can measure progress. I would love to say it was my new-found love for ‘blogging’ and the influence of other bloggers who caused me to change my way thinking. To a large extent, there was definite influence from this realm, and you all have my sincere gratitude. However, the final nudge really came to me last night as we stood around the big bonfire in my Mom and Dads yard. It was the symbolic burning of the 2010 baggage to make way for the hopes and dreams of 2011 that helped me to realize how the resolutions from last year had provided the impetus for others to achieve certain goals. Hmmm … Maybe, I should re-think my own road-map since I wasn’t really able to say that I achieved any goals. Oh, I did things. But were they goals? No. I can’t honestly say they were. They were just things that happened and I was lucky.

My resolution for 2011 is “to be all that I can be.”

Last year, I was struggling with identity. People would see me with my camera and ask if I was a photographer. Initially I said, “I’m just a hobbyist.” Eventually, I agreed “blushingly” and “apologetically” that “Yes, I was a photographer.” In 2011, I am a photographer. No apologies. It is what I do and I love it. So, I will be the best photographer that I can be. It might not make me famous of garner me mountains of money, but, if I can look back next year, at this time, and see improvement in my work, then I will know that I was the best photographer that I could be. And it’s not just in what I do. It’s in how I live. I want to be true to myself. I want to look in the mirror at the end of each day and ask myself, “Were you all that you could be, today?” And if I wasn’t, then you can bet your booties, that the next day would see me try harder. I hope that when we next stand around the bonfire on the eve of 2012, I will be able to look the others in the eye and say, “Yes. I kept my New Years Resolution.”

Here’s to the journey that is 2011. I am positive that it will be exciting and will take me into uncharted territory. I may find myself questioning my decision at some point, and that will be good. It will be my proof to myself that I am expanding my boundaries.. testing my limitations. I am always questioning if what I do is as good as what someone else has done. More often than not, I hide things away for fear that I don’t measure up. Part of being all that I can be means no more hiding and no more making excuses. So, if you’ve read this far, kudos to you. 🙂 You will know about the images I’m posting here .. These are textured images using Kim Klassens textures. I love her textures. I am however, one of those people who aren’t sure about using textures when it comes to my own work. I am so critical of my own talent that I just can’t look at it objectively. So rather than playing it “safe” as I have always done, I am stepping outside the comfort zone and putting it out there for the world to see. I enjoy them, I had fun editing them and I will try to improve on them.

Happy New Year.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in General, Photography, Resolution and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Fresh Resolve

  1. Angela says:

    I love love the textured photos, they look really cool!!

  2. eyegillian says:

    The symbolic burning of 2010 baggage… what a great idea! I’m thinking about your resolution to “be” a photographer, and I’m thinking, yes, I’m a photographer, too. It’s so easy to be intimidated by people who are better or more popular, but I think the trick is to let go of comparing yourself to others and just try to to be your best. I really like the thought that there is so much more to try and learn and experiment along the way. I look forward to following your journey through photography (and life and all that) in 2011!

    • …… the trick is to let go of comparing yourself to others and just try to to be your best …… I couldn’t have said it better myself! Exactly right – the second trick is to remember the first trick. 🙂

      Thanks for your wonderful insight and feedback. I appreciate it more than you know.

  3. Lisa says:

    I did the skinny mini before Chirstmas and never finished it. I going to retake it .
    Love what you have created. Beautiful . Beautiful.

    • I’m seriously consdiering her Art of Texture course. It’s a matter of $$ atm. Negative Ned is finishing the basement finally and at the base of the stairs is a lovely new studio space for me. I think he’s hoping I’ll clear all the photography equipment from the rest of the house. 🙂

  4. Lisa says:

    You wont belive it but I have a photo just like this last one but not textured yet. I have to learn more. What photo shop do you use. Have you tried the Element 9 or I bet you sue the CS5. Have you tried lightroom.
    Im going to put mylightroom back in tonight since I gave up watch too much TV to blog and take photos.
    So much to learn but want to learn it. If I stick with you I m sure I will find more and more encoragment.
    and any spelling errors , please overlook. Its my tademark. I m just not a speller and type faster than I can think sometimes.

    • I use CS 5 and LR 3. I got them for Christmas. Man – I am so spoiled….. I love it!
      I use some presets within Lightroom 3 to get some fun effects on the images. Try the CoffeeShop Blog for presets and actions.
      http://www.thecoffeeshopblog.com/She’s a great source of information too although I admit that most of my training was through NAPP…

  5. Lisa says:

    Your dried flowers would make a beautiful card.

Leave a Reply

