Speed Knitting

Ok – maybe not speed knitting as such.. more like “butt numbing”, dogged determination to finish the projects LOL
This first project: Eowyn Wristlets was knit with some stash yarn that I bought at a yard sale. It turned out pretty good and was fairly easy to work with. I am in love with cables now though…. ruh roh. Anyway, the second wristlet is not a perfect knit – I was trying to get the cables to go in the other direction and so reversed what the pattern called for.. yeah I’m a novice, I should have followed the pattern. But I learned a lesson and the gloves are useable so no harm done. (I have been known to complete a project and then rip it apart and redo it because it wasn’t quite right – mostly when making sweaters.)

This second project: Fringe Scarf …OOooooooo loving it! The pattern just called for the standard k2, p2 row 1 and p2 k2 row 2 —- which looked great with this bulky yarn. But I wanted to dress it up a bit and practice my crochet skills. I embellished it with a first row of hdc at both ends and down one side. That looked fine but wasn’t quite enough “ruffle” so I turned and did 2 hdc in each chain on the way back. It’s just the right amount for me but others can add more if they wish. Yes that’s me modeling the scarf and I look weird because I hate being in front of the camera. That’s fear and discomfort you see in my eyes. heh heh

At present, I am working on Fringe Fingerless Gloves to match…. πŸ™‚
I have no idea which project I’m going to tackle after those. My pattern magazines are well thumbed.
Maybe I should pull out the yard stash first and work from that direction rather than the other way around.
I have never been known for doing things the easy way, but life is always interesting.

Hope your day is interesting too.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Speed Knitting

  1. I love what you have done. I learned cables but are so hard I think. Love the mitts.
    Your really making me want to get out my needles.
    Lovely photo of you. I can tell you live by the most air.
    Happy New Year . All the very best.
    Hope you have had sometime to yourself.
    Lisa xo

  2. Thanks Lisa.
    Is it my rosy cheeks that gives away the coastal living or my frizzy hair? πŸ™‚
    Hope you have a wonderful New Year and I look forward to seeing more photos of the scenery and wild life in your area. You live in a beautiful part of this country.
    Warmest Wishes for a wonderful New Year

  3. Wendy says:

    Are you on Ravelry? If not, head on over there, and toss aside your well-thumbed magazines. Endless inspiration, and patterns. Or try Twist Collective – I’m always drooling over something on their site I want to knit. I’ve abandoned ship on the slippers, and I’m working on my cabley sweater. I’m now thinking simple bulky socks for Dad.

    • I am on Ravelry as a matter of fact – just started. Sorry to hear that the slippers didn’t work out. Are they beyond ripping apart and trying again? I’m going to check out that site, Twist Collective . Thanks!

  4. eyegillian says:

    The Eowyn Wristlets look like fun (checks Eowyn in armour articulating model… yup, wristguard things) and I love the self-portrait. You’re right, your eyes are really intense in a get-me-out-of-here kind of way. Lol!

Leave a Reply

