Ramblings and recipe

Well Christmas has come and gone and it was a wonderful time. I loved seeing my son and his family and spending such precious time with my granddughter. They grow so quickly…

On Christmas Eve we went visiting friends and family and had a wonderful time. It really helped us gather the special feeling of the season. Several of my relatives have lost loved ones this year and I knew that the Christmas season would be especially difficult for them. During our visits with them, we tried to make sure that they knew they were loved and cherished. Christmas dinner was spent with my parents and it was a fun evening filled with laughter and jokes. Laughter really helps to digest the food 🙂

And speaking of food, I had some ripe bananas sitting on the counter. These ‘naners were on the verge of hatching fruit flies I’m sure. I usually make them into a banana bread using an old recipe of my mothers, but this time wanted to try something a bit different. It turned out very nice! Sorry mom.
Banana Bread (Pillsbury Recipe)
Ingredients: 3/4 cup sugar,
1/2 cup of margarine or butter,
2 large eggs,
1 cup of mashed RIPE banana, (I use 2 large – if that’s slightly more than a cup then oh well. heh heh)
1/3 cup milk, (I used 1% partly skimmed)
1 tsp vanilla,
2 cups flour,
1 tsp baking soda,
1/2 tsp salt.
In a large bowl, cream together sugar and margarine until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs. Blend in bananas, milk and vanilla.
In a small separate bowl, mix dry ingredients and add to the creamed mixture.
Pour into a loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees farenheit for 55 to 60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean.
Loaf pans can be lined with parchment paper or greased and floured.

Tomorrow I’ll show you the knitting projects I’ve completed…

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Baking, Christmas Cheer, Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ramblings and recipe

  1. Wendy says:

    I think I’m definitely more likely to make your banana bread than you are to make my icing – sounds yummy!

  2. Sound and looks wonderful.

  3. eyegillian says:

    The banana loaf looks great! I just happen to have two bananas in need of a new reincarnation…. hmmm…

Leave a Reply

