Week 2 in Review

Wow! Hard to believe I’m already reviewing the week. Time sure does fly!

Last Sunday, I mentioned the Chaleur Echoes. In case you aren’t aware, (and why would you be), the Echoes are part of an International Organization called Harmony Incorporated. A chorus of ladies who sing four-part a cappella harmony in the barbershop style. Now, I am currently part of the group that sings “lead.” Mainly because my ear is not developed enough to sing anything else. Heck, it’s barely good enough to be called lead – but I do love going out on Tuesday evenings for 2 or 3 hours. The ladies are wonderful and besides the singing we have a lot of laughs. If you like singing but aren’t good enough to sing alone, consider a Harmony Chorus in your home town. It’s a real sisterhood. Ok – so that’s my recruiting plug. If any of the Echoes visit this blog you can see I’ve done my part. 🙂 Oh. I am not in the photo. I was the one taking the photo from the rear of the theatre.

Monday, December 6th. That was such a sad day for so many people in this area.

Copyright Mario Carrier

We experienced a significant winter storm that was generated over the Atlantic and came rolling up the southern seaboard. While the wind and the rains were fierce, the worst part was the 10 foot storm surge. We had monster waves and major erosion.

Copyright Mario Carrier

Homes had to be evacuated. Many of the waterfront properties that had invested in breakwalls and cribs to prevent this type of damage discovered that nature will find a way. The force was so great that the walls were either smashed or eroded from underneath and behind.

Copyright Mario Carrier

Property losses were anywhere from a few feet, (the lucky ones) to 200 feet, really unfortunate. We had roads wash out and sand deposited 2 feet deep in several areas. Definitely a day for the record books.
Photos of the storm are blogged with permission and are the property of Mario Carrier From Studio Mario. Merci Mario. Vous êtes très aimable.

The rest of the week was a rinse repeat of Christmas preparation, shopping, decorating. I managed to zip across the road briefly yesterday to capture a couple of images of the Miller Dam. I’ll post those tomorrow … mainly because I’ve run out of time to process them today. Enjoyed a wonderful evening with some very good friends and tomorrow my son, Steven, his wife, Donna, and our grandaughter, Zoey, arrive for the week. Yay! I’m practically vibrating with excitement over seeing them all again. So while this was supposed to be a Saturday post of the week in Review – it’s being completed after midnight and is being registered as a Sunday post. Sigh.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in General, Photography, Weekly Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 2 in Review

  1. eyegillian says:

    I’m so pleased to hear you are singing with a choir — sounds like great fun and community! Did you/your choir come to SJ for Harmony’s international competition last month?

    Those photos of the storm damage are pretty sobering. I’ve just been looking at the images from St. George/St. Stephen — lots of bad weather so far, I hope it doesn’t last!

    • Some of the ladies went to the competition for the fun and comraderie. We didn’t actually enter though.
      As for the damage, we got off easy compared to areas south of us. I hope that we don’t get anymore storms like that anytime soon!

Leave a Reply

