Decorations of Red

Decoration of Red

Won't you guide my sleigh tonight

The first weekend in December is officially time to decorate for Christmas. Usually I am chomping at the bit to get the house decorated and Negative Ned there is laughingly holding me back. My Christmas cards are traditionally completed and mailed by now. The tree would be sitting in front of the living room window waiting for trimming and by this evening, we would be reminiscing by the fire.

Usually …. traditionally … but not this year.

I am so behind and not organized at all. I haven’t even bought the Christmas cards yet! Unheard of for me. So what is going on this year to cause such a drastic change? I can’t honestly pin it to any one thing. All I know is I’m not even in a panic about it yet. Although I suspect that by next weekend I will be pulling my hair out if I still haven’t started. It’s been a very busy fall with the house, health, family, Photography Club and Chaleur Echoes Show. Perhaps I’m taking some time to relax and enjoy my family and friends before I get wrapped in the whirlwind of the holidays … OR, I’m mellowing out in my old age. I could be coming to terms with the fact that Christmas happens – even without my help. LOL (Anyone who knows me will understand the significance of that revelation.) I think this year, I will minimize the decorating and increase the cheer. I will cut back on the baking frenzy and make a few more telephone calls to friends far away. I will spend some extra time dropping a note inside the Christmas Cards this year instead of making ornaments (the tree can’t hold many more anyway.)

poise


With that being said, I think I’ll go and have a light lunch, and attend the free Chaleur Echoes Carole Festival at the St. John Church before joining the ladies for some Christmas Cheer. I’ll even tip a glass and send you all my warmest wishes for a “frenzy” free holiday season. I’ll revisit this topic over the next few weeks and let you know if I’m still in this zen-like state or if I’ll need to tip a few more glasses. πŸ™‚

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Christmas Cheer, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Decorations of Red

  1. Wendy says:

    Keep the zen! You can do it! I think you’ll enjoy the holiday season so much more. Good luck!

  2. I love this post Monica. aka Polly. I have an AkA.. Abby. Abby normal.. Hope you smile. . Im learning so much more about you my dear and I love that.
    I love your new site and so glad your blogging.
    Your link worked. Its sure did and I am delighted.
    Have you put your blog on the Network Blogs. If so let me know. If not have a look at them. Its easy to follow some of your faves.. S . Sisters. I think maybe one.
    Not sure just a guess. I do try to follow them.
    Have a great night and thankyou.
    Lisa xo

    • LOL @ the Abby Normal alias.
      I’m enjoying the challenge presented by blogging. I have not placed myself on the Network Blogs as yet .. I have no idea what that is. LOL I’m just muddling along at present – dipping the toes into the water and enjoying the feeling. Wonderful to see you back, Lisa. You and your beautiful photos and heartwarming words have been missed.
      Monica

  3. Denise (Superman's wife) says:

    Hi Monica, great blog, not too heavy, not too light, just right. Interesting topics. outstanding photos, love the apples on the snow covered trees. I look forward to seeing more.

    Denise

Leave a Reply

