Sunshine Muffins for a drab day

Sunshine Muffins

Delicious!

I tried this recipe this summer when I was looking for a way to use up some of the oranges in my fridge. It’s become a real favourite ever since. From the WINNERS: More Recipes From the Best of Bridge 1984 cookbook. And here’s the real bonus – the entire thing is made in your blender! Sweet!
Ok. So you need the following:
1 orange (I find that less juicy ones work best)
1/2 cup of orange juice (pulpy or not – your choice)
1 large egg (or an egg substitute equivalent)
1/4 cup oil (I use canola)
1 and 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt (the recipe called for a full teaspoon but being salt conscious I decreased the amount and everything worked fine)
OPTIONAL: 1/2 cup finely chopped nuts OR (and this is my fave) 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips.

Cut your orange into 8 pieces – leave the peeling on – the entire orange goes into this recipe~
Toss the orange, the juice egg and oil into the blender and blend until smooth.
Slowly add all the dry ingredients and continue to blend. Add your optional ingredients last and blend just until mixed.
Spoon the mixture into muffin tins lined with paper cups.
Bake in preheated 375 degree oven for 15 to 20 minutes.
Makes 16 large muffins.
Cool on wire rack. they freeze well and make a great school or work snack
Word of caution – those blades are VERY sharp. Excercise extreme care when getting the last of the batter from the blender

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Baking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunshine Muffins for a drab day

  1. They look so very wonderful. Next time I’ll bring the tea. I may have to copy this one down. Welcome to this wonderful artistic world .
    So glad you will be around.
    Have a great weekend.
    Lisa xo

    • Thanks Lisa.
      The muffins are delicious.
      I will have to play around and see if I can find a widget that lets me format the recipe for printing. No need to copy and paste then.

  2. I could use some sunshine-y muffins!
    Thank you for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

