Dental Visits

I have a confession .. It has been 2 1/2 years since my last dental visit.
I’m not fond of going to the dentist. My sincere apologies to all the wonderful people out there who strive daily to perfect our oral hygiene and health. However, there are many reasons why the average person such as myself, avoids going in. Here’s my list:

1. I am a grown woman. I have given birth. I have worked most of my current life and been all over the world. I have seen things you couldn’t begin to imagine. I don’t need a complete stranger given me heck because I haven’t flossed according to the rules of the Dental Association or the Health Advisories. I KNOW I should do a better job and that I should do this more often. However, I don’t.
Get over it.
2. Do you think you could put a silencer on that drill?
3. With the advances in technology and medicine, couldn’t we make a smaller needle? OR, perhaps come up with some other way to freeze the mouth before conducting any dental work?
4. What is up with those hard shelled mouth x-rays? My mouth feels fine until I get one of those shoved in and it scores the soft tissue …
5. WHY do dental professionals conduct conversation with you while they have their two fists shoved in your mouth?
……

I’m sure if I think more about this, I’ll come up with more excuses – not the least of which is the financial cost .. it’s cheaper in the long run to extract all your teeth and go with false teeth .. :-) No more worries about the Flossing police and never again will you be subjected to that drill or the dreaded scaler … shudder

Yes, I’ve been paying (in more ways than one) for the fact that I have neglected my oral health for 2 and a half years. I noticed about 2 months ago that my mouth was feeling the painful effects of hot and cold. That certain of my teeth were bleeding during flossing. Ergo, I knew I could delay the inevitable no longer and made an appointment to see the Dentist. Here’s what they found:
1 broken molar; 2 small cavities AND 1 badly infected and subsequently loose tooth
AGHHHH!

The broken molar and the 2 fillings fixed the problem with hot and cold sensitivity.
Today I had my first extraction since having wisdom teeth pulled 27 years ago. Sigh
The infection was so bad that she had to freeze the area three times before she could pull the tooth and spoon the infection.
The extraction was one of the lower front teeth and causes a speech issue. Thankfully it will be filled in using a Marilyn Bridge on Friday morning. If the bone loss repairs itself in 3 years, I’ll be able to have an implant done – but it’s not an option for me at present because I apparently let this infection go on for 2 years too long.

The moral to the story is – regardless of my / your feelings about going to a dentist – if you aren’t willing to have all your teeth pulled and get false ones, then you SHOULD make an annual visit.

So, what does todays photo upload have to do with going to the dentist?
Absolutely nothing – which is why I

    really really

like it.
:-p

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Activity, General, health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dental Visits

  1. Well we were both at the Dentist today having hard x-rays poked into our mouths. I can sympathize . I learned a long time ago that putting off the Dentist is asking for trouble. My new dentist has a TV I can watch while he is working and talking about his dogs. I want to comment but ……. Well you know.

  2. JW says:

    “pull the tooth and spoon the infection”

    That part just sounds sooooo nasty….and I was planning on having soup for dinner.
    Not now. :P

  3. eyegillian says:

    Oh arrgh. I’ve put off going to the dentist for about the same length of time, and I know there will be bad news (but no infection, I’m sure). That’s because my benefits ran out two jobs ago and I haven’t managed to score a good benefit-granting job since.

    BTW, I really like your reasons for not going to the dentist — mind if I use them?

    • I know how you feel. Going to the dentist is so necessary but on the other hand extremely costly!
      Feel free to grab those reasons – I think they are pretty much universal. heh

  4. Kim says:

    I’m with you on all counts. I never went to the dentist as a child so it made it worse as I got older to get myself to go. When I did finally go, I went to a dentist who advertised “I Cater To Cowards”. Seriously! After him, everyone else sucked! Now I go to a dentist who has the bedside manner of a board. The only reason I continue to go is because I like the hygenist. They specifically call me when he is out of town so I don’t have to deal with him at all and can just get my teeth cleaned! You are not alone! I once thought about just having all my teeth pulled just so I wouldn’t have to deal with the dentist anymore. Then I heard how painful it is once they are pulled and you try to get those dentures in there. Anyway, you take care sweetie! I’m “pulling” for you! Sorry, I couldn’t resist!! Love ya girl!

    • Groan @ your “pulling for me” comment. lol
      I am glad to know that you had an understanding Dental Clinic :-) I guess the problem I have is all the moving we’ve done over the years.

Leave a Reply

