Behind the Scenes of a Photo Exhibition

Well it’s time to start worrying about an upcoming Photo Exhibition. I participated in my first Club Exhibition in October 2010. It went very well and my Sunflower in Garden Light won 1st Place in its category (Macro / Close Ups). I was absolutely thrilled to say the least.
Sunflowers and garden light
And now, we’re preparing to do a 3 week exhibition at the New Brunswick Community College Gallery, Bathurst Campus. I am planning to place my sunflower photo in this exhibition too. But I’m wondering about which other images I should enter.. Here are the one’s I placed in the last Exhibit:
green umbrella Green Umbrella
Standing guard Enjoyed by All
the artistry of mother nature Natures Artistry

I sold a print of “Enjoyed by All” as a result of that Exhibit. I am thinking of adding my newest photo titled Winter Water:
Winter water
But that is something I’m sure people won’t want to look at all year because it’s so cold.. so then I was thinking I’ll use this image of the Coneflower instead:

what you see
without the quote of course.. Anyone have suggestions on which images I should use? A visit to my Flickr Stream will give you more choices.

I have to make a selection quickly since I have to order the print and get the mats cut to size as well as choose the colours of the mats.
In addition to getting my own images ready for the Exhibition, I have to find out how many others from the club plan to participate, get all the exhibitors on file with how many images they plan to showcase, their selling prices, and then I have to get the framed images to the gallery on March 2nd to hang. The Grand Opening is March 3rd.

I have 23 confirmed images – I should have another 20 within 24 hours.
There’s a lot of logistics to organizing an exhibit and I certainly don’t think I’ll do it again. The worst part is waiting for the exhibitors to get back to me with their information and knowing that if it doesn’t go off well, that it will reflect on me. I guess that means I’ll have to make a pest of myself and hound them until they hate me and then even if the exhibit succeeds, they’ll still look on me poorly because I was a pain in their backsides.

Maybe I worry too much about what others think of me.
I get like that when pressure starts to build – time to go meditate.

About Positive Polly

I am a retired Avionics Technician, wife, mother, sister, daughter, and dog owner. I enjoy knitting, baking, photography and photo editing.
This entry was posted in Activity, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Behind the Scenes of a Photo Exhibition

  1. Linda Hartong says:

    If you want to sell, I suggest landscapes. As for just plain wonderful shots, I like the coneflower and the green umbrella. Later I will look at your flickr photos. Good luck.

  2. Danica Lavoie says:

    My husband is also an avid photographer and was named Photographer of the Year several times at the Scarborough Camera Club – I enjoyed helping him pick his submissions. Here are the photos you took that I particularly like, and that I think you should consider submitting for the upcoming exhibition:

    daisies for peace
    From my garden to yours
    Afraid to Let Go
    an apple a day
    Misty Mountains
    Heron
    autumn bounty
    along the road to Gaspe I saw …..
    a fathers love
    Hydrangea
    rural mailbox
    Starburst
    My garden is starting to bloom and I’m tickled pink about it.
    close to the heart

    Really enjoyed looking at your photographs!
    Danica

    • Congrats to your husband! Is his work on display anywhere because I would love to see his photographs.
      Thanks for those suggestions, Danica. You picked quite a few that were my own personal favourites too.
      I will definitely take these into consideration!

  3. JW says:

    what you see
    The nose knows
    the teddy bear against the wall
    Serendipity
    I am Canadian
    Autumn Mountain
    Lily’tude
    You are in my power (kitty cat)
    I shall be as the rain….
    Kahlua and milk

    Yeah I went back aways to find them. :P

    • Wow! You were digging deep into the archives to find those. I’m thinking about the Teddy Bear but hesitating because of the size of that crop…
      I LOVE the I shall be as the rain– I must check the external hard drive to see if that one is processed full size….
      Thanks for your suggestions. I really appreciate your support.

  4. rads says:

    I loved the “Natures Artistry” and the Coneflower macro…they are good choices…but i do like all of your images and its difficult to select…but i love these: small world, temptation, evergreen they called me, yo ho ho, and reaching out…all the best!

  5. eyegillian says:

    Thanks for the excuse to browse your photostream again…!

    I think that it would make sense to put together a set of images, rather than just a selection of different photos you like. So if you want to show the coneflower, then I would choose other “softscapes”, such as Hydrangea, Afraid to Let Go, Winter Columbine, etc.
    On the other hand, since it’s a local show, you should get a good response to a selection of familiar landscapes, such as Autumn Mountain, Winter Trail, Trickling Brook, Robinson Lake, etc.

    Just my 2 cents’ worth!

    • Having you browse my stream again is bonus (wink)… lol
      Your suggestion is sound! Unfortunately, I was on a time constraint and had to make a snap decision on which images to order from the printers. I got notification that the photos shipped this afternoon so very soon I will know if they are high quality enough to go into the show – all are 11×16.5 – so I’m going to lose .5 from each photo with the matting. Don’t ask me why I have odd size images – it just goes hand in hand with who I am I guess.

      I will keep that suggestion in the back of my mind though for the next show I do. I’m beginning to have quite a collection.

  6. steve abatzidis says:

    This is beautifully put together Monica,
    I do love the cookies my grandkids and I made some on Saturday
    then again on Sunday with my son shooting the video:-)
    I do love your artistic expression, Bravo!!!

  7. Congratulaton..Stunning work. I love your sunflower. Great blog as always

Leave a Reply

